Health Insurance Committee Minutes

January 9, 2024

The Health Insurance Sub-Committee of the Piatt County Board met on Tuesday, January 9, 2024 at 9 a.m. in Room 104 of the courthouse. The meeting was called to order by Chair Todd Henricks. Roll was called. Attending was: Henricks, Jerry Edwards, Gail Jones, Michael Beem. Paul Foran, and Kathleen Piatt. Others in attendance were Kyle Reynolds, Linda Leach, Scott Porter, Stephanie Berkey, Jacqui Orcutt, Jennifer Harper, Debbie Marshall, Eric Seibring, Tony Kirkman, Jennifer Campbell, Sheriff Vogelzang, Linda Leach and Keri Nusbaum.

MOTION: Edwards made motion, seconded by Jones to approve the minutes of the October 19, 2023 meeting as written. On voice vote, all in favor, and the motion carried.

PUBLIC COMMENTS None

Nick Hiltbrand from Clemens & Associates reviewed the status of the current plan and the proposal for renewal. There are ten large claimants, and a loss ratio of 191.4% on the current plan. The March 1 renewal rate proposed is an increase of 11.02%. He reviewed the health, life, and dental plan through Principal as well. There would be a \$5 increase for the dental coverage.

Stephanie Berkey asked about offering a high deductible plan. There is one currently offered, but only two employees have signed up for it.

Amy Gaddis from GTPS made a presentation regarding a proposal she prepared for the nursing home. She does not have final numbers. She recommended coverage from AETNA. Hiltbrand asked about network coverage for this area. Gaddis suggested the providers would be comparable.

Beem asked what effect on rates would be if the Nursing home was insured separately. Hiltbrand said that Health Alliance did an analysis previously and determined that costs for the nursing home would rise, but costs to the county would drop. Open enrollment begins February 1.

MOTION: Beem made motion, seconded by Edwards to adjourn. On voice vote, all in favor. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 10:57 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Keri Nusbaum
Piatt County Zoning Officer/County Board Secretary